Are We Still Busy?

I have an announcement:

Michael and I finished a book!

We’ve started many, finished some. This is an accomplishment and I’m going to celebrate it.

We finished reading Crazy Busy last weekend. I loved it when I read it alone, but even more when I read it with Michael (one of the wonderful things about marriage).

So. How has it changed our lives?

Well, I’m not quite sure yet. But it’s definitely made a difference in how we think about scheduling things and how we make decisions about whether or not to say “yes” to an invitation, or invite someone over. Our goal is to plan for two nights a week of “free time,” meaning that we have two free nights a week with no regular commitments. In addition, we are trying, with renewed fervor, to only schedule something with friends for one of those nights. This might mean that we miss things, or that we don’t see certain friends as much. But I think it’s worth it to have a more regular schedule and have time to rest enough that we can actually be productive at home as well as work.

This week, our first of abiding by this schedule, has been (and I can’t emphasize this enough), awesome. Now don’t get me wrong. I still have a lot of laundry to do, and a kitchen to clean. But the difference is that I actually feel up to it heading into the weekend! We’ve had two nights at home this week, and we’ve actually had time to book our hotels for our Christmas trip (I’ll tell you all about our plans sometime soon).

With this amazing start, I think we are definitely going to keep tracking down these things called rhythm and rest.

Want to hear more about this book? Well, lucky for you, I’ll be posting more about it. Hopefully I’ll be able to give you a full review and summarize of what I think are the most helpful parts.

Thanks for reading,

Jamie

Leave a Reply

