Crazy Busy Review, Part 1

As I promised, I’m going to begin sharing bits of how I’ve been helped by Crazy Busy. I think it will be easiest for me to break it down by chapter and highlight my favorite parts of each, if that’s alright. I’m not great at book reviews, so you may have to bear with me.

The first chapter is largely introduction, so I’ll start with the second.

Chapter 2:

In which he introduces three dangers to avoid in busyness. These were helpful categories for me to figure out why and how our particular busyness was affecting me negatively. Here are his three dangers:

  1. Busyness can ruin our joy. Amen and amen. Here’s a quick quote that I found helpful: “As Christians, our lives should be marked by joy (Phil. 4:4), taste like joy (Gal. 5:22), and be filled with the fullness of joy (John 15:11). Busyness attacks all of that…When our lives are frantic and frenzied, we are more prone to anxiety, resentment, impatience, and irritability” (page 26). I can certainly feel that. When I’m running from one place to another with all of my in-between time laden with chores or guilt – man. I’m not a nice person to be around.
  2. Busyness can rob out hearts. Yes. “Do you know why retreats [etc.] are almost always good for your spiritual growth? Because you have to clear your schedule to do them. You get away… For most of us, it isn’t heresy or rank apostasy that will derail our profession of faith. It’s all the worries of life” (page 29). And another: “How many sermons are stripped of their power by lavish dinner preparations and professional football? How many moments of pain are wasted because we never sat still enough to learn from them? How many times of private and family worship have been crowded out by soccer and school projects? We need to guard our hearts” (page 29).
  3. Busyness can cover up the rot in our hearts. Ouch. “The greatest danger with busyness is that there may be greater dangers you never have time to consider” (page 32). Do you wonder why you see little growth or victory over sin? Well, maybe it’s because you don’t have time to see sin, let alone root it out! I’m guilty of this, and am in desperate need of a change in my life and heart in this regard.

Well, this may take more time than I expected. But I hope it’s helpful, and encourages you to both strive for a balanced, rhythmic, restful, lifestyle! You can expect a second installment soon, but I need to go do those dishes!

Jamie

Leave a Reply

